triangle circle square diamond

Critical Zones The Science and Politics of Landing on Earth | Bruno Latour, Peter Weibel (eds.)

This monumental volume, drawn from a 2020 exhibition at the ZKM Center for Art and Media, portrays the disorientation of life in a world facing climate change. It traces this disorientation to the disconnection between two different definitions of the land on which modern humans live: the sovereign nation from which they derive their rights, and another one, hidden, from which they gain their wealth—the land they live on, and the land they live from. Charting the land they will inhabit, they find not a globe, not the iconic “blue marble,” but a series of critical zones—patchy, heterogenous, discontinuous.

With short texts, longer essays, and more than 500 illustrations, the contributors explore the new landscape on which it may be possible for humans to land—what it means to be “on Earth,” whether the critical zone, the Gaia, or the terrestrial. They consider geopolitical conflicts and tools redesigned for the new “geopolitics of life forms.” The “thought exhibition” described in this book opens a fictional space to explore the new climate regime; the rest of the story is unknown.

Contributors: Bruno Latour, Dipesh Chakrabarty, Sonia Levy, Jan Zalasiewicz, Clémence Hallé, Anne-Sophie Milon, Robert Boschman, Karen Holmberg, John Tresch, Richard Powers, Pierre Charbonnier, Paul Jobin, Timothy Mitchell, Steve Banwart, Robert Boschman, Gerard de Vries, Matthieu Duperrex, Stefanie Rau, Joseph Leo Koerner, Jérôme Gaillardet, Alexandra Arènes, Marie-Claire Pierret, Susan L. Brantley, Daniel D. Richter, Sharon A. Billings, William E. Dietrich, Aleksandar Rankovic, Simon Schaffer, Jeanne Etelain, Timothy M. Lenton, Sébastien Dutreuil, Bettina Korintenberg, Pauline Goul, Alexander W. Schindler, Anne Schreiber, Anuradha Mathur, Dilip da Cunha, Ali Gharib, Siegfried Zielinski, Laura Dassow Walls, Isabelle Stengers, Verónica Calvo Valenzuela, Sarah Vanuxem, Dorothea Condé, Pierre-Yves Condé, Estelle Zhong Mengual, Vinciane Despret, Johanna Ziebritzki, Hanna Jurisch, Emilie Hache, Mira Hirtz, Nikolaj Schultz, Daniel Irrgang, Yohji Suzuki, Emanuele Coccia, Benedikte Zitouni, Joseph Leo Koerner, Rachel Libeskind, Robert Preusse, Stefanie Rau, Jennifer Gabrys, Bronislaw Szerszynski, Lena Reitschuster, Olga Lukyanova, Michael Flower, Jonathan Gray, Anna Krzywoszynska, Daria Mille, Pierre Wat, Martin Guinard, Frédérique Aït-Touati, Donna Haraway.


Pdf of the introduction